Uncle Jaque's Soap-Box

Introduction to the Czech CZ-82 Pistol:

Posted in Firearms: Curios and Relics. by Uncle Jaque on 11/15/2009

I finally got to “meet” a CZ-82 today.

Having to run down town to do some shopping, I popped into the local hardware store where they have a small section dedicated to guns, ammo, accessories and such.
With my 82 on the way, I wanted to have some ammo all ready to go for it.

While I was waiting for the chap behind the counter to finish up whatever he was doing, I perused the pistol selections in the display case. There, lo and behold, were two CZ-82s with their distinctive ambidextrous holsters.

So when the Salesman got around to asking me if he could be of assistance, I asked to see one of them. This is the first time that I’m aware of that I have ever laid eyes on or touched one of these pistols.

AIMcz82

CZ-82

My first impression was of it’s chubby, yet ergonomically designed grip that seems out of proportion to the skinny, stubby little slide and barrel. It fills the hand well without being “blocky” as a lot of high-cap pistols can be. That puts the majority of the weight directly in the hand, and there is no perceptible “hang” sensation from the barrel, and the little pistol. Without the wrist strain of holding up a heavy barrel, it seemed that my arch of movement (“Shake”) was diminished, and the ample (for a military pistol) sights could be held in alignment quite steadily.

The location and function of the controls on the CZ-82 are right where a pistol Shooter who is familiar, if not fond, of the Browning M1911 system would be looking for them and expecting them to operate.

This feature is most attractive, as my “Winter” carry piece is a Systema 27 .45 which I was packing at the time under a vest, having just switched back from my “Summer gun”, a S&W Model 36 “Chief’s Special” .38 Spl. revolver.
Not only will the 82 provide nearly as discrete carry potential as the snubby wheel gun, but it will increase my on-board cartridge capacity from 5 to 13 rounds – a pretty significant upgrade!

I won’t have to re-acquaint myself with a totally different operating and loading system with the change of seasons, as I am currently accustomed to doing, either.
That’s consistency, and a big factor in maintaining instinctive / automatic skill sets in a potential stress situation.

Does the CZ-82 have a “Decocker” function?
If so, is it reliable and safe to use – unlike the decocker on the CZ-52?

(Later observaton; No. But it does have a hammer block safety, which makes letting the hammer down by thumb a lot safer.)

About the only “flaw” I noticed is that it was difficult for me to operate the magazine release with my thumb, as I am accustomed to doing with my .45. It seems that the thick front edge of the grip panel gets in the way. I can actually operate it better with my right index finger coming in from the other side and taking advantage of the “omnidexterous” feature.
Either way, I found it to be rather awkward.

Are these the original military issue grips, or replacement “sporting” grips put on to satisfy importation requirements? I know for a while anyway, Tokarevs had to be fitted with import grips with that stupid “thumb rest” sticking out of the left panel.
If these are “Import” grips, how might one get ahold of some originals?
On a “carry gun”, function trumps cosmetic appearances, and in all likelihood I’ll end up taking a file to that grip panel so that I can drop the mag one-handed as I am accustomed to doing with my Systema.
(After I got my own CZ-82, I did file the bogus “thumb rest” bump off of the left grip panel and it worked a lot better!)

As for the ammo – he had have both Sellier & Beloit and “Blazer” aluminum cases Berdan primed rounds in stock. He’d had the S&B around for a while and was getting a little under $12 a box (50 rds) for those, while the more recently acquired Blazer was around $17.50.
Needless to say, I took two boxes of S&B. Perhaps I should have cleaned him out at that price – he had about 6 boxes left.

So thus far, having at least seen and briefly fondled a CZ-82, my impression is mostly favorable and I continue to anticipate the arrival of my own specimen so that we can continue to grow the relationship.
**************************************
Note – as of Nov. 2009; For over a year now, the CZ-82 has proven to be amazingly accurate, reliable, and discrete. It has been my regular carry sidearm ever since I got it.

Testfire; CZ-82

Test Firing the CZ-82

The “Silver Bear” Russian hollow point ammunition has proved to be quite satisfactory, although a number of CZ-82 packers swear by the “HXP” rounds.

Leave a Reply

